Photoshop Map Parchment

May 7, 2009

One of the more popular entries here on the blog has been the post in the map library for parchment paper that I was fooling around with some time ago. Well I have been continuing my investigations into how to create a good looking parchment paper since then and this is what I have come up with.

Butch Curry of Zombienirvana.com has created a great set of tutorials covering how to do RPG maps in Photoshop and the first two lessons are on how to create the parchment effect that he uses. I first found these tutorials back when Butch first started releasing them but have only just managed to spend more time with them. These video tutorials seem to have ended now with the last one posted back in early 2008. However they are well worth watching as Butch leads the viewer step by step through his techniques to create some amazing cartographic artwork. he’s what I have come up with today, just following the first two lessons.